Philip Schneider receives ASHP award

March 22, 2023
Photo of Schneider

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) recently recognized Philip J. Schneider, MS, FASHP, FASPEN, FFIP, professor of pharmacy practice at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, as a recipient of its 2023 Board of Directors Awards.

ASHP’s Board of Directors select awardees for different categories based on their practice excellence and outstanding contributions to health care. Schneider was awarded ASHP’s Honorary Membership that “recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice.”

This honor was awarded to him by a unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors and will continue throughout his lifetime.

“This award means a lot to me because it demonstrates the appreciation ASHP has for the service to the profession that I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to provide over those many years,” Schneider said. “I am also fortunate to still have an opportunity to serve as a member of the ASHP Visiting Leaders Program faculty and as a member of the International Accreditation Commission that accredits pharmacy residency programs outside the US.”

Schneider has had a long history of advancing the profession in leadership, education and training, research, and publishing roles. At ASHP, he has served as a past-president and currently a member of the Visiting Leaders Program and the International Accreditation Commission. Schneider is also a past-president of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) and for 10 years served as the first editor-in-chief of one of its official publications, Nutrition in Clinical Practice.

His involvement with professional organizations didn’t stop there. He also served two four-year terms as vice president of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), having served as chair of both the Board of Pharmacy Practice and the Congress Planning Committee.

Prior to these positions, Schneider was a professor and associate dean for academic and professional affairs for the University of Arizona (UA) College of Pharmacy at the Phoenix Biomedical Campus. During his tenure there, he was responsible for the launch and growth of a new branch campus while also holding joint faculty appointments at UA’s College of Medicine–Phoenix and the College of Public Health.

Schneider currently chairs the International Advisory Board of the Alliance for Safe Biologic Medicines (ASBM), an organization that serves as an authoritative resource center of information for the public, and the health care and health policy communities on issues related to biologic medicines.

He is also the founder of MediHealthInsight, a health care consulting organization.

In addition to ASHP’s Honorary Membership, Schneider has received numerous awards for his work in the pharmacy field. He has received the Lifetime Achievement and Jack Beal awards from the Ohio State College of Pharmacy; the Joseph A. Oddis Award for exceptional service to FIP; the Donald E. Francke Medal for significant international contributions to hospital pharmacy and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award that recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy from ASHP; and the Stanley Serlick Award from ASPEN that recognizes a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to improving safe practices for parenteral nutrition.

Before his position at the University of Arizona, Schneider was at the College of Pharmacy for over 33 years including being the founding director of the Latiolais Leadership Program.

Academics, Advocacy, BSPS News, PharmD News