Milap Nahata Distinguished Lecture Series

Established in 2012 in honor of Dr. Milap Nahata's outstanding and sustained contributions to pharmacy, this lectureship brings distinguished scholars to the college annually.

Featured lecturers inspire our faculty, residents, fellows, students and alumni to advance clinical pharmacy, education, research and practice. 

2024 Distinguished Lecturer

michael hogue headshot

March 6, 2024

Michael D. Hogue, PharmD, FAPhA, FNAP  
15th Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA)

"Wellbeing and Workforce: Getting to a Preferred Future"

Past years

April 13, 2023

Lecturer - Rita Shane, PharmD 
Vice President and Chief Pharmacy Officer, Professor of Medicine, Cedar Sinai
Associate Dean, Clinical Pharmacy, UCSF School of Pharmacy

Speech Title - "Leveraging Evidence and Advocacy to Advance Patient Safety:  Passion, Persistence and Patience"

April 8, 2022

Lecturer - Jannet M Carmichael, PharmD 
President, Pharm Consult NV LLC 
Principal, Amplify Health 
Former Pharmacy Executive, VA Integrated Service Network 21 
Past President, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Speech Title - "Compelling Forces and Powers Unseen that May Shape Pharmacy"

April 13, 2019

Lecturer - Calvin H. Knowlton, BS Pharm, MDiv, PhD 
CEO, Chairman and Founder 
TabulaRasa Healthcare, Inc. 

Speech Title - "A Novel Approach to Medication Safety:  Backed by Science, Proven Outcomes, Documented Savings"

March 1, 2018 

Lecturer - Julie Johnson, PharmD 
Dean and Professor 
University of Florida, College of Pharmacy 
University of Florida, Health Personalized Medicine Program, Clinical and Translational Science Institute

Speech Title - "Improving Patient Outcomes through Pharmacogenetics"

April 20, 2017 

Lecturer - John E. Murphy, PharmD 
Associate Dean and Professor 
University of Arizona College of Pharmacy

Speech Title - "Important Past, Distinguished Present, Transformative Future"

March 25, 2016 

Lecturer  – William Evans, PharmD 
Chair in Pharmacogenomics 
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Speech Title – “Pharmacogenomics: A Foundation for Precision Medicine”

April 2, 2015

Lecturer  – Dennis Helling, PharmD, ScD (Hon), FCCP, FASHP, FAPhA 
Executive Director Emeritus, Pharmacy Operations & Therapeutics 
Kaiser Permanente Colorado 
Clinical Professor 
University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences 
Denver, Colorado

Speech Title – “Thinking About Tomorrow!”

March 20, 2014

Lecturer  – Barbara Wells, PharmD 
Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus 
School of Pharmacy, The University of Mississippi

Speech Title – “Leadership Lessons Learned:  Pearls for Transformational Change”

March 21, 2013

Lecturer – Joseph DiPiro, PharmD 
Executive Dean and Professor 
South Carolina College of Pharmacy

Speech Title – “Writing Pharmacy’s Headlines”

April 5, 2012 

Lecturer – Robert A. Blouin, PharmD 
Dean of Pharmacy, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy 
Vaughn and Nancy Bryson Distinguished Professor 
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Speech Title – "Integration of the Education and Research Missions: Optimizing Impact at a Research Intensive Public University"