Dean Mann recognized by University of Kentucky for Lifetime Achievement

April 18, 2023
Photo of Dean Mann

By Rosa Mejia-Cruz

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 3, 2023) — Two accomplished University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) alums will become the latest inductees to the College’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni. The College will recognize their professional achievements at the Hall of Distinguished Alumni & Preceptors awards ceremony Friday, April 21, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. EDT. 

The 2022 inductees for the Lifetime Achievement Award are R. Kim Brazzell (BS ’75, Ph.D. ‘79) and Henry J. Mann (BS ’76, PharmD ’80, R89). Their peers selected the new inductees for their notable contributions to their respective fields.

“Drs. Brazzell and Mann have set the standard for excellence in the profession with their outstanding achievements in pharmaceutical sciences and pharmacy practice,” said R. Kip Guy, dean of the College. “They embody the values and spirit of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and have dedicated their lives to improving patient health and scientific progress. We are proud to recognize and honor their lifetime of contributions with induction into the Hall of Distinguished Alumni.”

R. Kim Brazzell, Ph.D.

Dr. R. Kim Brazzell is a highly accomplished senior ophthalmic pharmaceutical executive with a proven track record of success in research and development, commercial management, and business development. He received his B.S. in Pharmacy (1975) and Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (1980) under Dr. Harry Kostenbauder.

Brazzell has made remarkable contributions to the field of ophthalmology drug therapy over several decades, leading the development of innovative drug delivery approaches and enabling the treatment of back-of-the-eye diseases. He currently serves as Head of R&D and Chief Medical Officer for Kala Pharmaceuticals.

His expertise spans R&D management, global drug development, medical affairs, commercial management, commercial and R&D activities integration, and commercial development and licensing. He has played a crucial role in clinical R&D, including designing unique study protocols and analyzing data to assess drug safety and efficacy. Brazzell's efforts have resulted in the approval of seven new drug applications (NDAs), an exceptional achievement given the high attrition rate of research drugs.

In addition to his pharmaceutical expertise, Brazzell has also led executive management teams in strategic oversight, mergers, and budgeting. His business acumen has significantly impacted increasing revenue, drug product development, licensing decisions, and regulatory approvals for the companies he has worked with.

Brazzell's career highlights include executive management of global R&D departments in large and small ophthalmic pharmaceutical companies, leading the development and approval of several commercially successful ophthalmic pharmaceutical products in multiple disease areas, and successfully managing the Inspire Ophthalmology Business Unit, achieving $90+ million in revenue. He has also played a key role in successful mergers and acquisitions, including representing Inspire in its $430 million acquisition by Merck. Brazzell has served as a sponsor, moderator, and presenter at a successful FDA Advisory Committee Meeting, demonstrating his expertise in medical affairs.

His contributions to ophthalmology have been recognized nationally, and he is highly sought after for his evaluation of new drugs and clinical trial design. His reputation as an expert in the ophthalmic pharmaceutical industry has made him an outstanding consultant for clinicians and researchers. His success and dedication to the field make him an excellent role model for the next generation of pharmacists and scientists.

Henry J. Mann, Pharm.D.

Dr. Henry J. Mann has been dean and professor at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy since 2013. Previously, Mann was dean at the University of Toronto, where he directed the implementation of the first English-language entry-to-practice PharmD program in Canada. While dean at the University of Toronto, he also served the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada as chair of the Council of Deans, as vice-president of the Association, and as a member of the Board of Directors in addition to being a member of the Council of Deans.

Mann received his B.S. in Pharmacy (1976) and PharmD (1980) degrees from the University of Kentucky, where he also completed an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists residency as R89 under the direction of Dr. Paul F. Parker. Mann rose through the faculty ranks at the University of Minnesota (1980-2009), where he also served as associate department head for Pharmacy Practice, associate dean for Professional and External Relations, and associate dean for Clinical Affairs. Mann was the founding director of the interdisciplinary Center for Excellence in Critical Care at the University of Minnesota and the national research network Partnership for Excellence in Critical Care.

Mann has presented and published widely on applying pharmacology and pharmacotherapy principles to critically ill patients. His contributions to research and practice have been recognized by election as a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists. He received the Research Award of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation and the Technology Enhanced Learning Award from the University of Minnesota.

Dean Mann also received the University of Minnesota Pharmacy Alumni Society Faculty Recognition Award and the Weaver Medal for Outstanding Contributions to the College. The University of Kentucky selected him to receive the Paul F. Parker Award, which is given to recognize a resident of their program who has made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. He also was selected to provide the inaugural Thomas S. Foster Lecture (2013) at the University of Kentucky and received the national Rho Chi Lecture Award at the Rho Chi Annual Meeting in 2021.

Nominations for the Hall of Distinguished Alumni are collected year-round and selected once per academic year. This year, the College will also stream the celebration on its YouTube channel

This story originally appeared on the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy website. 

Academics, Alumni News, PharmD News