Dean Henry Mann to return to faculty


September 6, 2022

mann headshot
News Story Content

After 10 years of service as dean of the College of Pharmacy, Henry Mann will be stepping down at the end of the 2022-2023 academic year and returning to the faculty. Under his leadership, the College of Pharmacy has continued to be a leader in the profession and is nationally ranked #7 in the country. 

The College of Pharmacy has excelled under Dean Mann’s leadership. It has seen continued growth in its faculty, students, and research portfolio. The college has increased its tenure and clinical track faculty by 34% since 2013 and continues to prioritize student support with a robust student services team. In addition, total research funding has grown from $5.8M in 2013 to $15.2M in 2021.

The college has built on its curricular strengths while remaining focused on student-centered learning that integrates pharmaceutical sciences and pharmacy practice. The PharmD Early Assurance program for undergraduates has created a clear pathway and pipeline to success when our students launch their careers. The combined degree (BSPS/PharmD) has reduced the time to degree completion from eight years to seven, thereby reducing student debt and getting graduates to the job market a year early. 

A national search has been launched for the next dean of the Ohio State College of Pharmacy.

The advisory committee that will assist the search for the next dean will be chaired by Carroll Ann Trotman, dean of the College of Dentistry. The committee also consists of the following members:

  • Jessica Costic, program manager, research and graduate studies, College of Pharmacy 
  • Amy Fairchild, dean, College of Public Health
  • Pat Green, Robert H. Rainier Endowed Chair and professor, associate dean for research and graduate studies, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Kari Hoyt, Charles H. Kimberly Professor in Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy
  • Anushree Jakate, student
  • Trisha Jordan, assistant dean, College of Pharmacy; chief pharmacy officer, Wexner Medical Center
  • Nicole Kwiek, clinical professor, associate dean for undergraduate studies, College of Pharmacy
  • Bella Mehta, clinical professor and chair of the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Science, College of Pharmacy
  • Liva Rakotondraibe, associate professor, College of Pharmacy

The search committee will be assisted by Senior Vice Provost Kay Wolf, Kim Lambert from the Office of Human Resources, and the executive search firm Korn Ferry.