College of Pharmacy Receives Excellence in Education Award from NACDS

May 2, 2017

excellence in education
News Story Content

The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy received a 2017 National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation Scholarship for excellence in education to support the Pharmacy Ambassadors Program, a resource for refugees and immigrants, and  the Opioid Patient Education Program (OPEP), a program that allows pharmacists to help educate patients who are prescribed an opioid prior to the medication being dispensed. Acknowledging the vital role pharmacy education plays in improving patient care, the Foundation announced a total of $230,000 in scholarships and grants through the Program. Ohio State received the award during the NACDS Annual Meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz., on April 24.

This year’s awardees were selected from more than 40 general and diversity scholarship applications submitted from deans of accredited colleges and schools of pharmacy across the country. Ohio State received one of six grants awarded to applicants for innovative educational programs in the amount of $20,000 each, including two in the name of industry leaders: The Wayne Roberts Memorial Scholarship, provided by Apotex Corporation, and the Robert J. Bolger Scholarship, provided by Teva.

The NACDS Foundation Scholarship Program is designed to fund projects that hold promise to meaningfully improve patient care. Accredited colleges and schools of pharmacy were asked to submit applications for projects that may include community-based research projects and patient-centered coursework, or other innovative curriculum. 

Henry J. Mann, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM, FASHP, dean and professor at Ohio State’s College of Pharmacy, said “We are very proud to receive this award for excellence in education. The Pharmacy Ambassadors and Opioid Patient Education Programs allow us to tackle timely, real-world issues, while providing innovative learning and research opportunities for students, and most importantly, improve the health of those impacted by these programs. We are extremely grateful for NACDS’ support of education through this funding.”

“We extend our sincere congratulations to The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy on receiving this award recognizing the institution’s commitment to advancing public health through groundbreaking health programs that help improve patient outcomes,” said NACDS Foundation President Kathleen Jaeger. “The ongoing commitment of our benefactors to support educational programs in patient care is outstanding. Their engagement and generosity will motivate and inspire the next generation of leaders in community pharmacy for years to come.” 

The NACDS Foundation Scholarship Program began in 1997. Since then, more than $3.75 million in scholarships has been provided for pharmacy education thanks to the generous support of the Program’s benefactors.  



Established in 1885, The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is a global leader in pharmaceutical education, research, and clinical practice. As part of one of the most comprehensive health sciences campus in the nation, the college is home to world-class faculty, dedicated researchers and dedicated students who are leading the way in pharmacy education, practice and research. The college’s professional program is currently ranked 6th in the nation by U.S. News & World Report.