College of Pharmacy alumnus receives 2018 American Pharmacists Association Remington Honor Medal


July 23, 2018

Harold Godwin
News Story Content

Harold Godwin, College of Pharmacy alumnus and recipient of the 2018 American Pharmacists Association Remington Honor Medal, knew he wanted to be a pharmacist in the sixth grade.

“I had to write a report about someone noteworthy in the community, so I picked the town pharmacist. From that day forward I knew pharmacy is what I wanted to do,” Godwin said.

Godwin earned a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Kansas and a master’s degree in health system pharmacy administration from The Ohio State University. He also completed a two-year accredited residency in hospital pharmacy at The Ohio State University Hospitals.

“I was very interested in completing a residency. Ohio State was one of only a few programs at the time which offered it. It is also where I met my mentor, Clifton J. Latiolais,” Godwin said.

Godwin said that Latiolais was a trailblazer in advancing hospital pharmacy across the nation, and producing future leaders of pharmacy administration through his program at Ohio State.

“Clif had a vision to have a pharmacy administrator, or director level position, in every university hospital and medical center across the country. It takes an orchestra leader to create a vision for thousands of clinicians around the country, but that’s what Clif’s program, the Latiolais Leadership Program, creates,” Godwin said.

Godwin has certainly proven to be a leader in his distinguished career.

He served 34 years as director of pharmacy at the Kansas University Medical Center and 20 years as chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Being involved in pharmacy organizations throughout his career, Godwin has served as president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), president of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). He also recently completed a six year term with the Board of Pharmacy Specialists (BPS) and served as chairperson for 2017.

Godwin received the H.A.K. Whitney Award, ASHP’s highest honor in 1991, the American Pharmaceutical Association’s Distinguished Practitioner Award for Hospital Pharmacy in 2000, and was designated a Fellow by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (FASHP) in 2002. He is also a Fellow in the American Pharmacist Association (FAPhA).

In addition to his accolades, Godwin played a major role in changing the process for the administration of intravenous (IV) admixtures. In the late 1960’s, IV admixtures were prepared by nurses. As part of his thesis, Godwin developed a program for pharmacists to be more involved in the process by preparing all the IV admixtures for the patient. Through this program, Godwin contributed to transferring IV admixtures responsibilities from nurses to pharmacists nationwide, which is still done by pharmacists today.

Of all of the organizations Godwin has been part of, he feels fortunate to have been able to make an impact on them all, but especially ACPE.

“ACPE sets the standards for schools of pharmacy. During the time that I was on the organization’s board of directors, the board standardized training and accreditation standards for the profession. They created the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) curriculum and degree as the sole entry degree for the Pharmacy profession,” Godwin said. “This proved to be a pivotal time for the profession and has served us well, especially as we have transitioned to a clinical practice of pharmacy.”

Godwin remains a leader in the field through his participation in numerous organizations, including a position on The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy’s Latiolais Leadership Program’s executive committee and a member of the Dean’s Corporate Council.

“Cliff always said, ‘Don’t just join organizations, get involved.’ And that is what I’ve tried to embody throughout my career,” Godwin said.