Despite pandemic, College of Pharmacy celebrates research during Research Day 2021


April 21, 2021

Burdette headshot
News Story Content

The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy held its 15th Annual Research Day virtually and spread out presentations over the course of a week, March 22-26. The virtual format didn’t stop the college from recognizing the innovative research that has continued at the college during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Research Day provides faculty, staff and students the opportunity to present their research projects and findings and network with other potential collaborators. This year’s event included two days of poster presentations by student, faculty and post-doctoral researchers from throughout the college.

There was also a keynote address given by Joanna Burdette, PhD, professor and associate dean of research at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy. Dr. Burdette, whose research focuses on biological questions that are important for women’s health, gave a talk titled, “Natural compounds as inspiration for new therapies in ovarian cancer.”

A research poster competition took place, with winders receiving cash prizes for their projects. This year’s Research Day poster winners include:

Residents, PharmD and Undergraduate Student Division

First Place: $250
Presenter: Duncan DiGiacomo
Title: “Duloxetine-Mediated Inhibition of OCT2 to Prevent Oxaliplatin-Induced Peripheral Neurotoxicity”
Authors: Duncan F. DiGiacomo, Mahesh R. Nepal, Muhammad E. Uddin, Kevin M. Huang, Alex Sparreboom and Shuiying Hu

Second Place: TIE $100
Presenter: Abigail Corbett
Title: “Comparing Engagement Between Social Media Platforms on an Educational Prescription-Cost Resource”
Authors: Abigail L. Corbett and E. Michael Murphy

Second Place TIE $100
Presenter: Avery McMaster
Title: “Synthetic derivatization and cytotoxicity evaluation for vincamine”
Authors: Avery McMaster, Brenna Kirkpatrick, Joanna E. Burdette, A. Douglas Kinghorn and Yulin Ren

Post-Doctoral Researcher and Research Staff Division

First Place: $250
Presenter: Yang Li
Title: “Attenuation of Vincristine-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy Through Targeting OATP1B2 in Mice”
Authors: Yang Li, Alix F. Leblanc, Alice A. Gibson, Yan Jin, Kevin M. Huang, Muhammad Erfan Uddin, Mingqing Chen, Alex Sparreboom and Shuiying Hu

Second Place: $100
Presenter: Mahesh Nepal
Title: “Zebrafish: An In Vivo Screening Tool to Evaluate Organic Cation Transporter Function”
Authors: Mahesh R. Nepal, Alix F. Leblanc, Alice A. Gibson, Alex Sparreboom and Shuiying Hu

CCTS Translational Science Award: $250

Presenter: Yizhen Guo
Title: “Early Changes in Albumin Predict Benefit from Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors in Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer”
Authors: Yizhen Guo, Lai Wei, Mitch A. Phelps and Dwight Owen

Graduate Students

First Place: $500
Presenter: Eric Eisenmann
Title: “Preclinical Characterization of TP-0903, a Novel Multikinase Inhibitor, in TP53 Mutant Acute Myeloid Leukemia”
Authors: Eric D. Eisenmann, Sydney Fobare, Kevin Huang, Jae Yoon Jeon, Robert H. Weber, Josie Silvaroli, Bill Larsen, Jack Stromatt, Daelynn Buelow, Shelley Orwick, Erin Hertlein, John Byrd and Sharyn D. Baker

Second Place: $250
Presenter: Erfan Uddin
Title: “Renal Tubular Secretion and Cardiac Distribution of Dofetilide is Dependent on Mate1 Function”
Authors: Muhammad Erfan Uddin, Yan Jin, Alice A Gibson, Ingrid M. Bonilla, Cynthia A. Carnes, Shuiying Hu and Alex Sparreboom

Third Place: TIE $100                    
Presenter: Oluwatosin Ayinde
Title: “Design of At-7519-Inspired Protacs as Therapeutic Agents Against Acute Myeloid Leukemia”
Authors: Oluwatosin R. Ayinde, Robert J. Tokarski, Brittney K. Mize, Chia Sharpe, Emily Stahl, Natarajan Muthusamy, John C. Byrd, James R. Fuchs

Third Place: TIE $100                    
Presenter: Yanran Lu
Title: “Bacterial Topoisomerase Inhibitors Bearing Dixane-Linked Amide Derivatives Fighting Multidrug Bacterial Infections”
Authors: Yanran Lu, Jonathan Papa, Sheri Dellos-Nolan, Daniel J. Wozniak, Jack C. Yalowich and Mark J. Mitton-Fry

Third Place: TIE $100                    
Presenter: Brittney Mize
Title: “Structure-Activity Relationship Studies of Arylnaphthalene Lignan Lactones and Protein Target Elucidation”
Authors: Brittney K. Mize, Andrew C. Huntsman, Alexandria Young, Ermias M. Addo, Tova Bergsten, Yulin Ren, A. Douglas Kinghorn, Joanna E. Burdette and James R. Fuchs