PharmD candidate Amee Joshi receives ASHP Student Leadership Award


March 25, 2020

amee joshi photo
News Story Content

Amee Joshi, a Class of 2021 PharmD student at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, was one of nine recipients of the 2019-2020 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Student Leadership Award. The award recognizes students who exemplify the best attributes and achievements of ASHP student members.

Joshi serves as president of the Ohio State chapter of the Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists (SSHP), a student organization that teaches students about the many career opportunities for pharmacists in hospitals and health systems and holds events focused on residency training and pharmacy practice models.

Justin Kullgren, PharmD, palliative medicine clinical pharmacy specialist at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, nominated Joshi for the award and advises the Ohio State SSHP chapter.

“It has been an absolute pleasure to work alongside Amee over the past several years. Her willingness to serve others is inspiring to others around her,” said Dr. Kullgren. “The continued success of the Ohio State SSHP chapter is in large part due to Amee’s leadership. It can be easy for a student leader to come into a successful organization and remain with status quo. This has not been the case with Amee, as the chapter is continuously looking for ways to improve the experience of its members and COP as a whole.”

Each Student Leadership Award recipient will be sent a plaque and $2,000 cash provided by the ASHP Research and Education Foundation. Recipients will also receive access to a drug information library consisting of a number of publications in e-book format.

Congratulations, Amee!