2018 Milap Nahata Distinguished Lecture series to feature Julie A. Johnson, PharmD


February 15, 2018

Julie A. Johnson
News Story Content

The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is pleased to present distinguished lecturer Julie A. Johnson, PharmD, on Thursday, March 1, at 11:30 a.m., Davis Heart and Lung Research Institute Room 170. Johnson’s talk, “Improving Patient Outcomes through Pharmacogenetics,” is part of the 2018 Milap Nahata Distinguished Lecture series.

Dr. Johnson is the dean of University of Florida’s College of Pharmacy, a distinguished professor, and the director of University of Florida’s (UF) Health Personalized Medicine Program in the Clinical and Translational Science Institute. Appointed as dean of the UF College of Pharmacy in 2013, Dr. Johnson first joined the faculty at the college in 1998. Prior to joining UF, she held a faculty position for nine years at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy.

Johnson has secured nearly $40 million in funding, written more than 250 original articles and was named a 2015 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Scientist for being among the top one percent of cited authors in pharmacology and toxicology. She is one of a select group of pharmacists to be elected to the prestigious Institute of Medicine, now known as the National Academy of Medicine. In addition, she served as president of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics in 2016.

Dr. Johnson’s research programs focus on inter-patient variability in drug response, particularly cardiovascular drug pharmacogenomics, and translation of pharmacogenomics into clinical practice. Her discovery research centers around the pharmacogenomics of antihypertensive drugs, and drugs used to prevent clot formation. Her research has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health or the American Heart Association since 1990. She leads one of the funded groups in the NIH’s genomic medicine implementation network, called IGNITE, for which she was also inaugural chair of its steering committee.

Dr. Johnson received her BS in Pharmacy from The Ohio State University and her PharmD from the University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She completed her post-doctoral fellowship in cardiovascular pharmacology/pharmacokinetics at the Ohio State University.

The Nahata Lectureship was developed to invite and honor a distinguished scholar and leader who can inspire our faculty, residents, fellows, students and alumni to advance clinical pharmacy education, research and practice. The lectureship was established in recognition of Nahata’s outstanding and sustained contributions to clinical pharmacy.