History Timeline

History Timeline

Main Content

Inception of the college

Timeline Event Content
Chemical Laboratory Building 1885

The Department of Pharmacy was created with a three-year course leading to a certificate of "Graduate of Pharmacy" (GPh) in direct relation to a state law that was passed requiring all persons practicing pharmacy to obtain a state license. George Beecher Kauffman is named the first dean and the department is housed in the Chemical Laboratory Building. 


Blazing the trail

Timeline Event Content
old photo

Ohio State becomes the first in the nation to require a three-year Graduate in Pharmacy (PhG) degree.


First graduates

Timeline Event Content
1888 old building

Arthur Heath, George Weidner and Charles Krieger are Ohio State's first pharmacy program graduates.


The college's first move

Timeline Event Content
Botanical Hall

Pharmacy is moved to Botanical Hall


The second move

Timeline Event Content
2nd Chemistry Building

Pharmacy moves from Botanical Hall to the Second Chemistry Building (present site of Brown Hall).


A new name

Timeline Event Content

As part of a university-wide plan, the department becomes the College of Pharmacy. Along with five other units, they are the first colleges on campus. 48 students are enrolled in two programs; an optional two year course leading to a “Certificate of Pharmaceutical Chemist” (PhG) or a four year course leading to a “BSc in Pharmacy”.


Arthur Lawrence

Timeline Event Content
Arthur Lawrence

Arthur Lawrence becomes the first African American graduate of the College of Pharmacy.


The first Bachelor of Science graduate

Timeline Event Content
Charles Kimberly

The first bachelor of science is granted to Charles H. Kimberly.


Fire forces another move

Timeline Event Content

On February 19, the Second Chemistry Building burns down when a gas burner is left on in one of the classrooms. Pharmacy moves to the Veterinary Laboratory.


First "real" home

Timeline Event Content
Third Chemical hall

Pharmacy moves to its first permanent home in Third Chemical Hall, today called Derby Hall.


Dean Claire A. Dye

Timeline Event Content
Clair Dye

Claire A. Dye is appointed the second dean of the college.


Ahead of the curve

Timeline Event Content
woman at bench

The college ceases to offer the optional two year degree, requiring all students to complete a  four year program. This would not be a requirement enforced by all colleges of pharmacy until 1932.

Kappa Psi

Timeline Event Content
older classroom

The Kappa Psi professional fraternity establishes the Xi chapter at Ohio State.


Temporary move

Timeline Event Content
Chemistry Building

While Derby Hall undergoes renovations, pharmacy is moved to the new Chemistry Building, now called McPherson Chemical Laboratories.


Dean Dye secures new space

Timeline Event Content
new building

The College of Pharmacy is moved into the new Pharmacy and Bacteriology Building located at 1958 Neil Avenue, built specifically for Pharmacy when Dean Dye successfully initiated a $250,000 legislative appropriation.


Dean Bernard V. Christensen

Timeline Event Content

Bernard V. Christensen is appointed dean. In the same year, the first regular graduate programs at the MS and PhD levels are established.


First PhD graduate

Timeline Event Content
Arthur E. Schwarting

Arthur E. Schwarting becomes the first PhD graduate of the College under the direction of his major professor, L. David Hiner.


Roy C. Darlington

Timeline Event Content
Roy Darlington

Roy C. Darlington becomes the first African American in the nation to graduate with a PhD in the pharmaceutical sciences.


Again ahead of the curve

Timeline Event Content
man with science equipment

Ohio State becomes the first program in the nation to require a five year program. A two + three (year) program was implemented. This would not be a requirement enforces by all colleges of pharmacy until 1960.


Interim dean Loyd E. Harris

Timeline Event Content
Loyd Harris

Loyd E. Harris is appointed interim dean.


Dean Lloyd M. Parks

Timeline Event Content
Dean parks

Lloyd M. Parks appointed dean of the college


Residency in hospital pharmacy

Timeline Event Content
Clifton Latiolais

Clifton Latiolais implements Ohio State's residency program in hospital pharmacy.


College of Pharmacy moves to Parks Hall

Timeline Event Content
Parks Hall

On August 15, 1967, Pharmacy is moved to 500 W. 12th Ave. - what is now known as Parks Hall. There are 24 full-time and 11 part-time faculty members.


Program change

Timeline Event Content
students in front of parks

The college changes from the two+three year program to a one+four year program.


First computer

Timeline Event Content

The first computer is installed in the college.


Building named in honor of dean

Timeline Event Content

The building at 500 W. 12th Ave. is dedicated as the Lloyd M. Parks Hall in honor of the college's fourth dean.

Dean Albert H. Soloway

Timeline Event Content

Albert H. Soloway is appointed dean.


Professional Experience Program

Timeline Event Content
woman at bench

The College’s Professional Experience Program is initiated with required externship rotations and institutional practice.


Alumni Society is chartered

Timeline Event Content
Josephine Sitterle Failer

The College of Pharmacy Alumni Society is chartered. Josephine Sitterle Failer, a 1939 graduate of the College, is named the first president.


Pediatric Pharmacotherapy Fellowship created

Timeline Event Content
Milap Nahata

Milap Nahata developed a pediatric pharmacotherapy fellowship.


Dean John M. Cassady

Timeline Event Content
John Cassady

John M. Cassady is appointed dean.


The Riffe Building

Timeline Event Content

The Vernal G. Riffe Building is dedicated and contains a new biological sciences/pharmacy library and research facilities.


PharmD creation

Timeline Event Content
graduation ceremony

Ohio State becomes the first in the nation to implement a true graduate-professional configuration for the entry-level PharmD.


Dean Robert W. Brueggemeier

Timeline Event Content

Robert W. Brueggemeier appointed dean.


Leading the way

Timeline Event Content
in class

The College of Pharmacy becomes among the first in the nation to require a baccalaureate degree before matriculation into the Doctor of Pharmacy program.


Dean Henry J. Mann

Timeline Event Content

Henry J. Mann is appointed dean.