History of the Division


History of the Division

Main Content

Dr. Bernard V. Christensen (1939 - 1955)

Timeline Event Content
Dean Christensen photo

Bernard Victor Christensen earned both his MA (1925) and PhD (1927) from the University of Wisconsin before accepting a position as an instructor in pharmacology and pharmacognosy at the University of Florida. While at Florida, Christensen was awarded the Ebert Prize, the oldest pharmacy award given in the United States. Christensen accepted the deanship at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy in 1939, and worked to establish a graduate program. 

Christensen was known for his "quiet perseverance" as well as his dedication to the improvement of the profession. During his tenure, the faculty at the college doubled in size and greatly improved in quality. Professionally, Christensen wrote several books on the collection and cultivation of medicinal herbs and served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He played an active role in the graduate program and was a committee member for nearly every pharmacy dissertation in the first fifteen years. 

Christensen retired as dean emeritus in 1955. While he was at Ohio State, he served as the major advisor for the following students: Roy Darlington (PhD 1947), Willis Ralph Brewer (PhD 1948), Melvin Rubin (MS 1948), Howard Jenkins (PhD 1950), Arthur Tye (PhD 1950), Martin Blake (PhD 1951), J. Frank Nash (PhD 1952), John Wagner (PhD 1952), Jack Lewis Beal (PhD 1953), Arthur Glasser (PhD 1953), Willis Moore (PhD 1953), Riad Ramadan Alami (PhD 1954), Emma Pascual Maniquis (PhD 1954) and Nouri Mary (PhD 1955). 


Graduate Faculty are hired

Timeline Event Content

Dean Christensen begins to build the graduate faculty of the newly created graduate program and hires Dr. Ole Gisvold, Dr. L. David Hiner and Dr. Earl P. Guth to lead the program.

Dr. L. David Hiner (1940 - 1947)

Timeline Event Content
photo of David Hiner

L. David Hiner earned both his MS (1931) and PhD (1938) from the University of Florida under the advisement of Bernard V. Christensen. Hiner was a native of South Dakota and was teaching at South Dakota State College when Christensen recruited him to Ohio State in 1940. Arthur Schwarting followed Hiner from South Dakota to Ohio State and would go on to become the program's first graduate in 1943.

Hiner played a substantial role in establishing several of the first graduate courses offered to students. Among these were Pharmacy 816: Special Problems in Pharmacognosy and Pharmacy 616: Microscopical Pharmacognosy. Hiner left in 1947 to become the first dean of the University of Utah College of Pharmacy. While at Ohio State, Hiner served as the major advisor to the following students: Arthur Schwarting (PhD 1943), Woodrow Byrum (PhD 1947) and Ismail Amin Abdel-Latif (PhD 1948).


Graduate studies in the 1940s

Timeline Event Content
graduate students performing field work

Original graduate courses in pharmacognosy consisted of conference, library, laboratory and field work. In this undated photo, two students collect samples while an instructor (believed to be Dr. Hiner) looks on. 


Dr. Jack Beal (1952 - 1986)

Timeline Event Content
Photo of Jack Beal

Jack L. Beal received an MS from the University of Kansas in 1941, before working as a medical laboratory technician during the Second World War. Afterward, Beal entered the graduate program at Ohio State and earned his PhD under the advisement of Dean Christensen in 1952. Beal was hired as an assistant professor that same year and helped modernize the traditional instruction in pharmacognosy. Dr. Beal was especially interested in exploring the connections between classical pharmacognosy, natural products chemistry and biochemistry. Beal had an active research career, isolating 175 different alkaloids over the course of his career. 

Beal was known for his active role with college alumni and helped to organize and alumni society of the college in 1981. Dr. Beal made significant contributions to the graduate program, college and university before retiring as professor emeritus in July of 1986. Among the many awards presented to Dr. Beal are the College of Pharmacy Distinguished Service Award in 1990. In 1994, the college established the Jack L. Beal Chair in Pharmacognosy and Natural Products Chemistry.

During his time at Ohio State, Beal served as the advisor for the following students: Charles Winek (PhD 1962), Fawzy Taha Hussein (PhD 1963), Mahmoud Darwish-Sayed (PhD 1958), Harry Fong (PhD 1965), Robert Locock (PhD 1965), Albert Awad (PhD 1966), Paul Schiff (PhD 1967), Norbert Pilweski (PhD 1967), Ali Al-Shamma (PhD 1968), Chin-Nan Chen (PhD 1972), Wan-Tzu Liao (PhD 1976), Jinn Wu (PhD 1978), Leticia El-Naggar (PhD 1980) and Shaaban El-Naggar (PhD 1979). 


Natural Products Chemistry

Timeline Event Content
Mahmoud Darwish, Jack Beal and student

In this photo, graduate student Mahmoud Darwish-Sayed (left), advisor Dr. Jack Beal (center) and student Floyd Bender (right) examine the properties of aloe. Darwish-Sayed would go on to defend his dissertation in June 1958, titled "A study of the influence of gibberellic acid on digitalis purpea L. and fagopyrum esculentum Moench."


Dr. Jules B. LaPidus (1958 - 1974)

Timeline Event Content
NMR machine with staff

Jules B. LaPidus earned both his MS and PhD from the University of Wisconsin before joining the faculty at the College of Pharmacy in 1958. LaPidus authored over 40 papers in medicinal chemistry before accepting an appointment in the graduate school as the first associate dean for research. LaPidus would then become vice provost for research and ultimately dean of the graduate school before heading to Washington, DC to serve as the president of the council of graduate schools. He was bestowed the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters by Ohio State during the summer of 2000. 

The graduate school also recognized LaPidus by naming two graduate fellowships in his honor to recognize his unparalleled role in graduate education both locally and nationally. While he was at Ohio State, several pharmacy students completed research and doctoral dissertations under his guidance including: Anthony Sinkula (PhD 1963), Thomas Fitzgerald (PhD 1965), James day (PhD 1966), Richard Effland (PhD 1971), Jon Fauley (PhD 1971) and Lawrence Martin (PhD 1971).