Diversity Timeline

Diversity Timeline

Main Content

From the start, the College of Pharmacy has had a rich history of students, faculty and staff of all backgrounds coming together to move the profession forward.


The Beginning

Timeline Event Content
COP classroom

The Ohio State University established a “School” of Pharmacy with a two-year curriculum initially offered to ten students, including the first female student Beatrice Earhart.


First African-American Graduate

Timeline Event Content
Arthur Lawrence

Arthur Lawrence became the first African-American graduate of the College of Pharmacy. He later went on to earn a medical degree at Ohio State in 1907, and died May 19, 1954.


First African-American Certificate Recipient

Timeline Event Content
Robert Stephens

Robert Kenneth Stephens became the first African-American to earn a certificate as a Pharmaceutical Chemist.


First African-American Female Graduate

Timeline Event Content
Fannie Jamison

Fannie Jamison became the first African-American female to graduate from the College of Pharmacy.


First Asian-American Graduates

Timeline Event Content
Lee and Vong

Ta-Chong Lee and Pao Ho Vong became the first Asian-Americans to graduate from the College of Pharmacy.


Kappa Epsilon Chapter Established

Timeline Event Content
Kappa Epsilon group photo

Kappa Epsilon is a national professional pharmacy fraternity for women whose aim is to promote women in the field of pharmacy. On February 19, 1926, the Epsilon chapter at Ohio State was established and reestablished in 1939.


First African-American M.S. Graduate

Timeline Event Content

On September 3, the first M.S. degree was awarded to Roy C. Darlington, and the first Ph.D. degree was awarded to Arthur E. Schwarting


First African-American Ph.D. Graduate

Timeline Event Content
Roy Darlington

Roy C. Darlington became the first African American to graduate with a Ph.D. degree in the pharmaceutical sciences.


Betty Jane Nichol Appointed to Ohio Board of Pharmacy

Timeline Event Content

Nichol, a 1948 College of Pharmacy graduate, was the first woman to hold this position and the longest serving board member. She went on to serve as the vice president and president.


Josephine Sitterle Failer founds the Pharmacy Alumni Society

Timeline Event Content
Josephine Sitterle Failer

Failer, a 1939 College of Pharmacy alumna, founded the Pharmacy Alumni Society and served as its first president.


Dean Cassady Forms Committee on Diversity

Timeline Event Content
Dean Cassady

Dr. John M. Cassady was appointed Dean. The Dean’s Advisory Committee on Diversity was formed.


Articulation Agreement Established

Timeline Event Content
Group photo

Ohio State established an articulation agreement with Xavier University of Louisiana aimed at increasing minority student interest in Ohio State's graduate programs in pharmacy.


Women’s Pharmacy Club Established

Timeline Event Content

Club was established in 1992 by Shirlyn K. Chaffin.

First Female Graduate of the MS in Health System Pharmacy Administration Program

Timeline Event Content
Sara J. White

Sara J. White, RPh, MS, became one of the first females to graduate from the MS in Health System Pharmacy Administration program.


First BSPS Graduate

Timeline Event Content

Ilona Godfrey became the first graduate of the Bachelor of Science in the Pharmaceutical Science (BSPS) program.

Dr. Milap Nahata Elected President of AACP

Timeline Event Content
Milap Nahata

Dr. Nahata was elected president of AACP.

Student Elected President of SNPhA

Timeline Event Content
Darell Bryant

Darrell Bryant was elected national president-elect of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association and received a Student Recognition Award from the University’s Board of Trustees.


Ramona McCarthy Hawkins inducted into the Maryland Hall of Fame

Timeline Event Content
Ramona McCarthy Hawkins

Hawkins, a 1950 College of Pharmacy graduate, was one of the first few registered African American female pharmacists when she began her career.


Marialice Bennett serves as American Pharmacists Association President

Timeline Event Content
Marialice Bennett

Bennett, Ohio State alumna and professor emeritus of clinical pharmacy, became the first woman from Ohio State to serve as the president of the American Pharmacists Association, one of the premiere organizations for pharmacists.


Student Serves as National SNPhA President

Timeline Event Content
Felix Tran

Felix Tran served as the National SNPhA President.


SPADE Created

Timeline Event Content
Group photo

Student Pharmacist Association for Diversity and Equity (SPADE) organization is created. This student run organization is committed to promoting an academically enriching and supportive environment, allowing all students of the College of Pharmacy to feel welcomed and appreciated regardless of their background. 


SPADE receives Diversity Award

Timeline Event Content
spade with award

The Student Pharmacist Association for Diversity and Equity (SPADE) received The Ohio State University’s 2018 Distinguished Diversity Enhancement Award.