The Latiolais Award

In 1985, some 25 years after Clif Latiolais began training graduate students and residents at The Ohio State University, these former students bestowed an honor by dedicating the Latiolais Award to recognize excellence for contributions made to hospital pharmacy. The Latiolais Award is presented annually at the MS/Alumni Luncheon held each year at the Midyear Clinical Meeting for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and has been presented to only the nation’s finest leaders in health system pharmacy practice.


Latiolais Award Philosophy
The Clifton J. Latiolais Award will be given to an individual of high personal and professional ideals, who has made significant contributions to institutional pharmacy practice. These contributions may include achievements or outstanding performance in institutional pharmacy practice, education, administration and/or research. The individual will have demonstrated throughout his/her career the philosophical perspectives, personal commitment and enthusiasm for excellence which Dr. Latiolais sought to develop in his residents.

All graduates of programs participating in the Residency in Hospital Pharmacy/Master of Science program at the Ohio State University or individuals intimately involved with the development of these programs are eligible for this award.

Any member of the eligible pool of candidates may make nominations. Nominations should be submitted to the immediate past recipient who serves as chair of the Selection Committee. Consent will be obtained from all nominees.

Selection Committee
For the first five years of the award, an appointed committee made award selections. Each award winner will automatically be added to the Selection Committee. The chairman of the committee will be the most recent recipient of the award. At the end of the first five years, the appointed members were dropped from the committee and the committee is now composed entirely of former awardees.

The Latiolais Award winner is expected to attend the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in the year the award is bestowed. The awardee will be expected to receive the award at The Ohio State University Residency Luncheon held at that meeting and present a 15-20 minute address to that group on a topic of his/her choice pertaining to pharmacy practice.

Please click here for a listing of the past Latiolais Award recipients and their acceptance remarks.