Nahata Lectureship to Feature Pharmacogenomics Expert William Evans


The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is pleased to present distinguished lecturer William Evans on Thursday, March 24, 11:30 a.m., Room 103, Lloyd M. Parks Hall, 500 West 12th Ave. Evans’ talk, Pharmacogenomics: A Foundation for Precision Medicine,” is part of the 2016 Milap Nahata Distinguished Lecture series.

Evans joined St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (SJCRH) as a student in 1972, chaired the Pharmaceutical Sciences Department from 1986-2002, served as Scientific Director & EVP from 2002-2004, and as CEO of SJCRH from 2004-2014. He was the inaugural holder of the Donald Pinkel Chair of Childhood Cancer Treatment at St. Jude and the First Tennessee Bank Chair of Pediatrics and Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine. He currently holds the ALSAC Endowed Chair of Pharmacogenomics at SJCRH.

For the past 40 years, his research has focused on the pharmacogenomics of anticancer agents in children with acute lymphoblastic leukemia, for which he has received three consecutive NIH MERIT Awards from NCI. Evans has authored over 400 articles and book chapters. He has received several national awards for his research, including the 1989 Therapeutic Frontiers Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the 1994 Volwiler Research Achievement Award from the Am. Assoc. of Colleges of Pharmacy, the 2009 Pediatric Oncology Award from the Am. Society of Clinical Oncology (shared with Mary V. Relling, Pharm.D. of SJCRH), the 2009 Team Science Prize from the Am. Association of Cancer Research (shared with leukemia colleagues at SJCRH), the 2012 Remington Medal from APhA and the 2013 Hunter Award from Am. Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 2002 and is a member of the National Academy of Medicine.

He served on the Board of Scientific Counselors of the US National Cancer Institute (2007-2012), the Board of Trustees of Rhodes College (2005-2014) and currently serves on the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees (2014-present), chairs the Board of Directors of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS; 2016-present) and chairs the Scientific Advisory Board of the Princess Maxima Children’s Cancer Center in The Netherlands (2014-present).

Evans received his BSc and PharmD degrees from the University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences (1974, 1975) and has received honorary doctoral degrees from Ohio State, the University of Florida, the Medical University of South Carolina, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science and Rhodes College.

The Nahata Lectureship was developed to invite and honor a distinguished scholar and leader who can inspire our faculty, residents, fellows, students and alumni to advance clinical pharmacy education, research and practice. The lectureship was established in recognition of Nahata’s outstanding and sustained contributions to clinical pharmacy.