Nahata Lecture Series to Feature Dr. Barbara Wells


Columbus, OH –The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is pleased to present distinguished lecturer Barbara Wells, Dean Emerita and Professor Emerita at The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy and Executive Director Emerita of the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, on Thursday, March 20, 11:30 a.m. in room 117 Lloyd M. Parks Hall, 500 West 12th Ave. Dr. Wells’ lecture is part of the 2014 Milap Nahata Distinguished Lecture series.

Dr. Wells, whose primary instructional activities focused on psychiatric therapeutics, received seven teaching awards. She is President of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists Foundation (CPNPF) and is co-editor of Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic ApproachPharmacotherapy Handbook, and Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice, and an editor and contributor to AccessPharmacy.

Dr. Wells has served as President and Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), President and Chair of the Board of Regents of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), Vice chair of the Board of Trustees of the ACCP Research Institute, member of the NIH Advisory Committee on Research on Women’s Health, member of the Psychopharmacologic Drugs Advisory Committee of the FDA, member of the Board of Directors of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education, Vice Chair of the Commission on Credentialing of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Chair of the Council of Deans of AACP, Chair of the Section of Teachers of Pharmacy Practice of AACP, chair of the Argus Commission within AACP, Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS), and member of the Specialty Council on Psychiatric Pharmacy within BPS.

The Nahata Lectureship was developed to invite and honor a distinguished scholar and leader who can inspire our faculty, residents, fellows, students and alumni to advance clinical pharmacy education, research and practice. The lectureship was established in recognition of Dr. Nahata’s outstanding and sustained contributions to clinical pharmacy.