Nahata Distinguished Lecture Series to Feature Dennis Helling


The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is pleased to present distinguished lecturer Dennis Helling, executive director emeritus of Pharmacy Operations & Therapeutics at Kaiser Permanente Colorado and clinical professor at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, on April 2 from 11:30 a.m. -12:15 p.m. in Parks Hall, room 107. His lecture will be titled, “Thinking About Tomorrow!”

Helling’s practice emphasis and research have been focused on documenting the impact pharmacists have on improving patient outcomes and the costs of health care. The department he oversaw at Kaiser Permanente employed more than 900 staff at 37 pharmacies that emphasized expanded roles for pharmacists and ambulatory clinical services.

In addition to Kaiser Permanente and the University of Colorado, Helling was a founding member and president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), an organization that focuses on advancing human health by extending the frontiers of clinical pharmacy. He also serves as vice president of The Denver Hospice Board of Directors, chairman of the Working Group on Pharmacy Reimbursement of the Federation of International Pharmacy, and on the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Board of Trustees.

Helling has received numerous accolades for his work, including the ACCP Paul Parker Medal for Distinguished Service to the Profession of Pharmacy, the ACCP Distinguished Achievement Award in Ambulatory Care, the ASHP Sustained Contribution to Literature Award, the APhA Remington Honor Medal and two APhA Foundation Quality Awards. His department at Kaiser Permanente twice received the Pharmacy Quality Alliance Award for Excellence in Medication Safety.

A graduate of the St. Louis College of Pharmacy with a BS in pharmacy, Helling attended the University of Cincinnati for his PharmD. He completed his clinical/hospital pharmacy residency at Cincinnati General Hospital. Both institutions awarded Helling with their Distinguished Alumnus Award.

The Nahata Lectureship was developed to invite and honor a distinguished scholar and leader who can inspire our faculty, residents, fellows, students and alumni to advance clinical pharmacy education, research and practice. The lectureship was established in recognition of Dr. Nahata’s outstanding and sustained contributions to clinical pharmacy.