College of Pharmacy Professor Wins Bayer Award

Yizhou Dong

Yizhou Dong, PhD, an assistant professor of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy was one of 17 recipients from nine countries to be awarded a Bayer Hemophilia Award, an initiative that supports basic and clinical research and education in hemophilia. Dr. Dong was awarded the Early Career Investigator Award, which provides salary support and research funds for junior faculty members to undertake mentored and/or basic research projects. This funding will help Dr. Dong investigate the potential of mRNA nanomedicines, a novel platform for the production of factor VIII, that leverage the missing Factor VIII in hemophilia A patients.
The Bayer Hemophilia Awards Program (BHAP) funds innovative research and educational initiatives around the world. An initiative of Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc., BHAP aims to support research into the next generation of care and treatment options. Since its founding in 2002, BHAP has awarded more than 250 grants, totaling more than $30 million, to researchers and caregivers from 32 countries. BHAP support has contributed to more than 450 publications, poster presentations and other scientific communications by awardees. The 2015 grant recipients combined awards total more than $1.2 million.
"This year's BHAP awardees are conducting research at the very frontier of science," said Dario Mirski, M.D., vice president and head of U.S. Medical Affairs, Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals. "We are proud to support research and clinical practice that has the potential to make a significant impact on the diagnosis and treatment of bleeding disorders."
 “The Early Career Investigator Award is a prestigious award and also provides a wonderful opportunity for my lab to conduct high-impact research projects,” said Dong. “We appreciate the generous support from Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Inc., and I hope we can make significant contributions to the treatment of hemophilia in the near future.”
Other U.S. BHAP winners, who were announced at the International Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis in Toronto this week, include Dr. Ben Samelson-Jones, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; Dr. Beth Warren, University of Colorado Denver; Dr. Ammon Fager, Duke University Medical Center; Dr. Qizhen Shi, Medical College of Wisconsin; and Dr. Christopher Doering, Emory University.