College of Pharmacy Honors 2015 Alumni Award Winners


The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy is pleased to recognize its 2015 Alumni Award winners, alumni and friends of the college who have made a difference in pharmacy practice, research, education and outreach.
Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Marialice Bennett, BS '69 Marialice S. Bennett, RPh, FAPhA, is a professor emeritus of Clinical Pharmacy and residency director for The Ambulatory and Community Care Residency Programs at the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. Bennett was among the first clinical pharmacists to practice at the Ohio State Medical Center, and has been involved with several national practice-based research projects.
Josephine Sitterle Failer Alumni Award winner, Bridget McCrate Protus, PharmD '05, ,MLIS, CGP, CDP is director of drug information for HospiScript Services. Protus is a member of several hospice and pharmacy organizations and teaches an elective course at the College of Pharmacy each spring semester, and precepts pharmacy students and pharmacy practice residents.
Jack L. Beal Postbaccalaureate Award winner John Armitstead, MS '82 is system director of Pharmacy Services, Lee Memorial Health System, Fort Myers and Cape Coral, Florida, where he is responsible for pharmacy care provision in a multi-hospital system consisting of over 250 pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. He is currently president-elect of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and a past ASHP board member.

Jack L. Beal Postbaccalaureate Award winner Eric Yiu-Kai Fung, PhD '80  is professor of Pharmacology, Department of Oral Biology, University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), College of Dentistry. Fung’s research activities include determining, the neurochemical effects of nicotine on central dopaminergic and GABAergic neuronal systems; the effects of nicotine on bone remodeling; the role of mercury in neurodegenerative disorders; and the pharmacokinetics of bisphenol a released from dental sealant in humans.
Jack L. Beal Postbaccalaureate Award winner Aditi Kare Panandikar, MS '92 is managing director of the company. During her career, and under her leadership, she has applied and received more than 20 patents in India, two in the US, two in Europe, and one in Japan. Her expertise in has resulted in many invited presentations at regional and national meetings.
College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award winner Jaime Capestany, BS '98 is Anticoagulation System Manager at Mount Carmel Health System. Capestany  has  been  a  preceptor  and  clinical  instructor  for  Ohio  State’s  College of Pharmacy for 13 years, as well as for other colleges of pharmacy and has been a preceptor for visiting international pharmacy students. For several years, he was one of the moderators for an elective at college, and is a board member of the Physician Care Connection and part of the Dean’s Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.

College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award winner Brian Lehman, BS '97, RPh MBA, MHA is manager of Pharmacy Benefits at the Ohio Public Employee Retirement System (OPERS), the 11th largest pension system in the United States. Lehman has co-authored a five-year strategic plan with Pharmacy Benefit Manager, Express Scripts, Inc., which contributed to the initial funding of the ITIO at the college. He also has been involved with mentoring interns and residents along with being a guest speaker at the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP) student chapter meetings and pharmacy courses.

College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award winner John A. (Jack) Lince, BS '64 retired from his independent community pharmacy practice in 2005. He has maintained a close association with pharmacy, and provides complimentary photography to the College of Pharmacy, the College of Pharmacy Alumni Society, the Academy of Pharmacy of Central Ohio, the Ohio Pharmacists Association, the Upper Arlington Citizen Police Academy, and the Ohio Crime Prevention Association.

College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award winner Kathleen Nameth, BS '80 is director of continuing education for the Ohio Pharmacists Association where she coordinates educational programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. An immunization advocate, Kathy is vice chair of the Adult Immunization Coalition of Central Ohio, which provides education on adult vaccines and provides free influenza vaccine to low-income adults. Additionally, she has served on the steering committee of the Ohio Immunization Partners for Healthy Adults.
Friend of the College Award winner Steve Lawrence  is co-founder of Renlar Systems, Inc., a company that developed retail pharmacy management systems. Renlar, which sold to retail independent and regional chain pharmacies, was installed in more than 3,000 locations nationwide. In 2009,  Lawrence became senior vice president of Independent Sales where he has helped lead Cardinal Health to become the largest supplier to independent retail pharmacies in the U.S.

Friend of the College Award winner Dianne Radigan is vice president of Community Relations for Cardinal Health, where she leads the development and execution of all corporate and foundation philanthropy, as well as employee engagement in the U.S. and abroad. Radigan has community experience across multiple sectors including leadership roles at the Children’s Hunger Alliance, the University of Missouri, the Ohio Department of Education, as well as in private practice focused on health and wellness.
Award recipients were honored at a luncheon last month.