Beatty Receives Pharmacy Award for Innovative Pharmacy Practice

Stu Beatty receives an award.

The Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) announced today that Stuart Beatty, R.Ph., PharmD, BCPS of Plain City, Ohio, is the 2014 recipient of the Upsher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award.

This award, which was presented at the OPA 136th Annual Conference held April 4-6 in Columbus, honors pharmacists who have demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care by providing effective patient counseling.

Beatty has been critical to the development of the Martha Morehouse General Internal Medicine (MMGIM) Clinic, a National Committee of Quality Assurance (NCQA) tier 3 patient-centered medical home in Columbus, Ohio. This is the highest distinction recognized by NCQA. As the first pharmacist at the site, he pioneered the pharmacists’ involvement, transforming chronic pain management, establishing diabetes and transitional care practice models, performing complete medication reviews for patients, and educating medical residents, pharmacy residents, and student pharmacists in the collaborative environment.

“Stu Beatty is one of many pharmacists who have the passion to provide superior health care to the patients of Ohio. His drive to develop a patient-centered medical home makes him a truly valued member of our pharmacy community and the community in which he practices,” said Ernest Boyd, OPA Executive Director.

Beatty is a graduate of the Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy. Following graduation, he completed a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency with Emphasis in Community Care at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy.

OPA, established in 1879, represents more than 4,000 pharmacists, pharmacy educators, and pharmacy students throughout the state. It is OPA’s mission to unite the profession of pharmacy and encourage interprofessional relations, while promoting public health through education, discussion, and legislation.