Beatty, Pharmacy, General Internal Medicine Selected for Prestigious APhA Pinnacle Award


The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation has announced that the collaboration between The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy and The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Division of General Internal Medicine have been chosen as honorees of the APhA 2015 Pinnacle Award in Group Practice–Health System–Corporation. Established in 1998, these awards celebrate significant contributions to the medication use process through increasing patient adherence, reducing drug misadventures, promoting the use of national treatment guidelines, improving patient outcomes or enhancing communication among the members of the healthcare team. The recipients will be honored on September 16, 2015, during a ceremony at APhA headquarters in Washington, D.C.
The partnership has been led by Stuart Beatty, PharmD, BACAP, CDE, Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Neeraj Tayal, MD, FACP, Director of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics. The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy and Wexner Medical Center Division of General Internal Medicine started the collaboration with Beatty joining the primary care clinics in 2006. Since that time, the pharmacy team has grown from one shared faculty member at one clinic to four shared faculty members, one full time pharmacist, and three pharmacy residents practicing at five NCQA tier 3 patient-centered medical homes (PCMH) across the network. The pharmacists provide anticoagulation management, transitional care management, population management, and chronic care management for patients and serve as a drug information resource. The site has an established interdisciplinary diabetes clinic, a site selected to be part of the APhA Foundation Project IMPACT: Diabetes initiative, and polypharmacy clinics that allow pharmacists and physicians to have visits specifically aimed to optimize medication regimens for complex patients. The pharmacists provide population management services centered on safe and effective medication use and reach out to complex patients recently discharged from the hospital to prevent unnecessary hospital readmissions. The network has also been the primary training site for 17 pharmacy practice residents and numerous student pharmacists. Beatty and his team have concentrated on justification and sustainability of pharmacist services within a PCMH, have published results from studies, and presented at numerous state and national professional meetings on the impact of pharmacists in the primary care setting.
“In 2006, the Ohio State’s College of Pharmacy strategically invested resources to support placing a pharmacist clinical faculty member into the Ohio State’s General Internal Medicine ambulatory care practice team,” said Henry J. Mann, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM, FASHP, Dean and Professor, The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. “Since that time, the OSUGIM pharmacy group has more than fulfilled this goal and the team has flourished into a dynamic, innovative, state-of-the-art healthcare group that provides high-value, sustainable, team-based care and outstanding education for both pharmacy and medical trainees.”
Other 2015 award winners include Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, FAPhA professor and executive director of the Center for Innovative Pharmacy Solutions at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, and Duquesne University Mylan School of Pharmacy.
The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is a trusted source of research demonstrating how pharmacists can improve health care. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve people’s health through pharmacists’ patient care services. The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S.